You are here

Late String Quartets and the Grosse Fuge, Opp. 127, 130-133, 135 (Paperback)

Late String Quartets and the Grosse Fuge, Opp. 127, 130-133, 135 By Ludwig Van Beethoven Cover Image
Usually arrives at our store in 5-14 business days.


Beethoven's last string quartets are universally regarded as supreme, transcendent works -- among the greatest and most intimate music in chamber literature. Composed in the last years of the master's life -- from 1823 to 1827 -- these quartets contain astonishing experiments in thematic development and musical form that laid the foundation for innovations in 20th-century string quartet writing, especially in the important works of Bart k and Shostakovich.
This volume, reprinted from the definitive Breitkopf & H rtel edition, includes the following string quartets: No. 12 in E-flat, Op, 127; No. 13 in B-flat, Op. 130; No. 14 in C-sharp Minor, Op. 131; No. 15 in A Minor, Op. 132; No. 16 in F, Op. 135: and the Grosse Fugue in B-flat, Op. 133.
The quartets are published here with bar-numbered movements and ample margins at the bottom of each score page for notes and analysis. This convenient, affordable volume is the ideal edition for study in the classroom, at home or in the concert hall.

About the Author

The genius of Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827) casts a long shadow over classical music -- no other composer of the past two centuries has exercised a more profound influence. A product of the Classicist generation, he was the first of the Romantics, and his works remain undiminished in their powers of enchantment.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780486401119
ISBN-10: 0486401111
Publisher: Dover Publications
Publication Date: June 16th, 2011
Pages: 192
Language: English
Series: Dover Miniature Music Scores

Terms and Conditions

© 2009-2015 Words, LLC | 179 Maplewood Avenue | Maplewood NJ 07040 | 973-763-9500 |