You are here

Marigold Bakes a Cake (Hardcover)

Marigold Bakes a Cake Cover Image
By Mike Malbrough, Mike Malbrough (Illustrator)
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Nov 18 6:45am
(Picture Books age 0-5)

Description


For fans of Mo Willems' Don't Let the Pigeon... series. Baking the perfect cake is how Marigold spends Mondays. Being messy, noisy, and disruptive in Marigold's kitchen are how one finch, two pigeons, and three loons spend their Mondays

Marigold the cat loves Mondays, for that is when he bakes cakes With his favorite recipe in front of him, he rolls up his sleeves and gets down to it. He whips up egg whites . . . Easy. He adds a cup of milk . . . Peasy. Then he sprinkles in just a pinch of . . . of finch? That's not right at all Neither are the smidgeons of pigeons or the spoonsfull of loons. Clearly a chase is in order Yet all that leads to is a spectacularly messy kitchen. And no cake.

With a recipe comprised of equal parts humor and charm, author-illustrator Mike Malbrough has cooked up a scrumptious laugh-out-loud addition to the great tradition of interruption books. Perfect for fans of Mo Willems' Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus and David Ezra Stein's Interrupting Chicken.

Praise for Marigold Bakes a Cake

"This book contains the perfect recipe for fun. The watercolor illustrations are impeccable. . . This humorous book would be ideal for a storytime reading."--School Library Journal

"Malbrough's watercolor illustrations are full of charmingly zany details, from dapper Marigold's polka-dot bow tie to the chocolate splatters after the birds take over the cake making, and the creatures' over-the-top facial expressions amp up the comedy. Playful rhymes and surprising page turns make this a great pick for a group storytime, and the comical ending . . . will be a valuable one for kiddos."--Booklist

"Debut talent Malbrough celebrates the act of culinary creation and the joy of being absorbed in a personal passion--and, like the best desserts, he doesn't let his story get too sweet. In one of many lovely watercolor spreads, Marigold blends glossy curls of shaved chocolate and a ribbon of molasses into the batter. . . Doing what one loves, Malbrough shows, makes it possible to transcend even the basest instincts."--Publishers Weekly

"Clever text follows the illustrations around the page, swirling with chocolate shavings and molasses as Marigold mixes his batter. The lush, textured watercolors match the energy of the story . . . Kids will giggle over the antics of both cat and birds during readalouds and will find plenty of humorous details to discover in the illustrations on their own."--BCCB

About the Author


Mike Malbrough (www.mikemalbrough.com) was a freelance graphic designer, comic book artist, performer and teacher with a career spanning two decades before beginning his career as a picture book author-illustrator. He is the director of ORNG Ink, an after-school studio for young artists, and has received several awards and honors for his work in the community with children and teens. Mike lives in Orange, New Jersey, with his wife, two adventurous kids, and a cat named Agnes who hates him. Follow Mike on Twitter @studiomalbrough.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781524737382
ISBN-10: 1524737380
Publisher: Philomel Books
Publication Date: July 18th, 2017
Pages: 40
Language: English

© 2009-2015 Words, LLC | 179 Maplewood Avenue | Maplewood NJ 07040 | 973-763-9500 | info@wordsbookstore.com